Day 1: Introduction

Day 1 of “30 Days of Devotion”

<30 Days of Devotion will  not be consecutive, because contrary to popular opinion, I DO have a life>

  1. A basic introduction of the deity

Hekate is…

…..now that I sit and try to put Her into words, with a mere 26 letters arranged & rearranged into seemingly meaningful ways, I realize language is largely inadequate for this task.

I suppose I shall try, though. Newbies and fluffy bunnies alike may simply know Hekate as Queen of Witches, Goddess of Death & Ghosts, Guardian of the Crossroads…. the truth? She is. She is also more – a LOT more.

 

She is the Cosmic World Soul, Keeper of the Keys, the Angry One, the Midwife, the Three-formed, the Saviour… Yet these are still only some of Her many many epithets and titles. They express how the ancients viewed Her, the many roles they believed Her to play. I can only really comment on what i have experienced, how I know Her – to be honest, that’s all any of us can do.

 

Hekate is Power. Anthropomorphically, She appears as a woman, youth or adult. She is a Guardian and a Keeper, an Illuminator, a Shrouder, and a Guide.

 

To me, Hekate is a dark Queen, lurking among the darkest places found both within and without all. She assists in showing me the path I must take, reflect upon the paths I have taken; the choices I must make are guided by Her twin flames and immeasurable knowledge.

She Keeps the Ways of the Universe, the Paths of Destiny & Fate, behind the locked doors they require until the appropriate hour. She holds the Key. The key of bone, blood, breath, and soul; the Key of all that is, all that was, and all that shall be.

She is my Guide, my Guardian, my Sanctuary – and my kick up the butt when I need it.

 

She is

 

Leave a Reply

