Crash Course in Chakras

The most commonly utilised system of chakras is the 7-Chakra model, and although there are practitioners who use an alternate model, this is the one I will use for this post.

What are the chakras?
Originally part of Hindu spirituality, the chakras are 7 energy centres, aligned with the spine, within our auric/astral bodies. They control the flow of energy through all of our bodies – astral, auric, ethereal, physical, however many layers of body you prescribe to the chakras permeate them all. They are most commonly visualised as lotuses, or as spinning vortexes / wheels of energy, or both combined. Each chakra has specific energies it governs & regulates, and it’s own set of correspondences (listed below).

Chakras naturally open and close (visualised as fast or slowed/not spinning) to properly regulate the flow of energy through our bodies – inhibiting or decreasing excesses, and encouraging or increasing deficits. Problems arise in our bodies – and consequently our lives – when the chakras are out of balance i.e. if a chakra becomes blocked (stuck closed) or overloaded (stuck open).

As well as governing the energies within our bodies, the chakras also facilitate an energetic connection to the Earth, at the base, and the Heavens / Universe at the crown. This connection is often utilised in grounding & centring before magickal work, in various meditations, and incorporated in some forms of yoga.

Here are the most commonly assigned correspondences, starting at the Base Chakra and working up:

Location: base of spine / coccyx
Sanskrit name: Muladhara
Mantra: Lam
Colour: red
No. of lotus petals: 4
Element: Earth
Crystals: hematite, garnet, onyx, ruby
Oils: cedar wood, patchouli, musk
Incense: cedar
Connected with: financial security, grounding, feeling secure, physical reality, physical needs, survival, tribe / cultural identity

Location: a few inches below the navel
Sanskrit name: Svadhisthana
Mantra: Vam
Colour: orange
No. of lotus petals: 6
Element: Fire
Crystals: carnelian, moonstone, gold topaz, orange coral
Oils: rose geranium, rose, sandalwood
Incense: damiana
Connected with: taste, smell, sensuality, sex & lust, desires, reproduction system, addiction, pancreas, spleen

Location: between bottom of ribs and the navel
Sanskrit name: Manipura
Mantra: Ram
Colour: yellow
No. of lotus petals: 10
Element: Air
Crystals: yellow citrine, sunstone, amber
Oils: bergamot, vetiver, yang ylang
Incense: Ginger, woodruff
Connected with: concentration, ambition, focus, intellect, inner peace, digestion, sense of self, personal identity, willpower, motivation

Location: centre of chest
Sanskrit name: Anahata
Mantra: Yam
Colour: Green
No. of lotus petals: 12
Element: Water
Crystals: rose quartz, emerald, jade, peridot
Oils: rosewood, rose, bergamot
Incense: lavender
Connected with: emotions, feelings, compassion, love, self acceptance, cardio-vascular health, relationships

Location: hollow of neck (just above collarbones)
Sanskrit name: Vishuddha
Mantra: Ham
Colour: blue
No. of lotus petals: 16
Element: AEthyr / Spirit
Crystals: sodalite, turquoise, aquamarine
Oils: eucalyptus, chamomile, lavender
Incense: frankincense, benzoin
Connected with: voice, self-expression, communication, speaking your truth, assertiveness, confidence, integrity

Location: between the eyebrows and up a little
Sanskrit name: Ajna
Mantra: Aam
Colour: indigo
No. of petals: 2
Element: Light
Crystals: tiger’s eye, lapis lazuli, sapphire
Oils: basil, sandalwood, thyme, rose geranium
Incense: mugwort
Connected with: intuition, psychic abilities, being in tune with everything around you, ESP

Location: just above the crown of your head
Sanskrit name: Sahasrara
Mantra: Om
Colour: violet
No. of lotus petals: 1,000
Element: All / None
Crystals: amethyst, selenite, clear quartz, diamond
Oils: frankincense, rosemary
Incense: myrrh
Connected with: unity, spirituality, sacredness, enlightenment, knowledge, wisdom, true understanding, divine bliss, Ultimate Power / the Creator, deities, universal oneness